DIY – One Room At A Time

Home » Uncategorized » Let Jesus’s Love Be Your Motivation

Let Jesus’s Love Be Your Motivation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

This scripture in 1 Corinthians 13 says it all. Isn’t is a shame we can do all those good things and it profit us nothing. We can understand all mysteries and all knowledge and it won’t profit us because there is no love. We can speak so eloquent and deliver a great sermon, but without love it don’t profit us. We can tithe each pay check and give all our stuff to the poor, and without love it profits us nothing. We can believe God for anything and every thing and have faith to move any mountain or problem, but without love there is no profit. We can get so blinded by the good works we do and think we have arrived or it will take us to Heaven, but without love, that won’t happen. The greatest profit is to accept Jesus and what He did. That’s His grace. And His grace IS Love. Jesus is the way to Heaven; Jesus’s Love is the way to Heaven, not worldly success, not a great career, not being a great father or mother. Not tithing, not giving your body to be burned. There’s a scripture where Jesus gives a parable about people trying to get into Heaven by telling Him of all they’ve done such as healing others, casting out demons, prophesying in His name; But the Lord Jesus rejects them (Matthew 7:21-23; Not every one that saith unto Me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven. Many will say to Me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from Me, ye that work iniquity).

The works mentioned above are good things to do, but again without love there is no profit. We should do those things in the name of Jesus, but with God’s Agape love. So many get caught up if they hear a good sermon that person has to have love in their hearts. Not so. The Apostle, Paul even wrote about preaching to others and can still be a castaway (rejected; reprobate; unapproved). 1 Corinthians 9:27; But I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection: lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway. Wouldn’t that be a shame to do all that work and lose the greatest benefit, the greatest reward, Heaven because you did it all without Love. 

Here’s another story in the Bible about the importance of a person’s motives. Just because a person preach does a good sermon doesn’t mean they have Love (Matthew 7:15; Beware of false prophets, which come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravening wolves). There was a man, a false prophet, in the old testaments who the Lord God commanded to bless the children of Israel because his plan was to go and curse them. His name was Balaam. Balaam was instructed by an evil king (Balak) to curse the children of Israel (Numbers 22-24). But God told him not to do so. But he had no love in his heart toward them. In the end that good work did not save him and he was killed later (Read Numbers 31:8). Just because God uses you does not mean you have love. That is a bold statement to make but it is true. There are so many people we follow that have done the right things and spoke the right messages but their motives are not from love. The Word of God tells us to try (discern) every spirit. We follow people by their works, not by their hearts. The only one who knows the heart of a man is the Lord. So the one to show you their heart is the Lord. Have you ever heard a good word, but you felt something wasn’t right about the person? That’s the Lord telling you their heart isn’t right. Their motives aren’t right… Ask the Lord what’s in that person’s heart. The Lord will show you if their motivation is love. The Lord God tells us He looks at the heart, whereas we look at the outer (1 Samuel 16:7; But the Lord said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the Lord seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the Lord looketh on the heart).

Jesus says the world will know His disciples because of the love they have for one another (John 13:34-35; A new commandment I give unto you, that ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another. By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.t and follow them if they are following the ways of the Lord Jesus).

Let the Love of Jesus Christ be your motivation. A while back the Lord was teaching me about love. The Holy Spirit of God told me to let my light shine. He was teaching me how to love those who persecuted me. Then that some day I received a devotional email through Andrew Wommack and the topic was “Love”. While reading this email it stated how oil was used to light a lamp, but each time I saw oil, the Lord showed me the word Love. Us walking in Jesus’s Love is what gives us that light, just like oil gives light to a lamp. Then the Lord’s Holy Spirit directed me to the scripture about the 10 young virgins in Matthew 25. There were five wise and five foolish virgins. The foolish five took their lamps with no oil, whereas the wise five took their lamps with oil. When the Bridegroom was coming the foolish five ask the wise for their oil. But it was too late. When you think about Jesus’s love, that’s something that cannot be bought. We can spend so much time doing all the right works, but missing out on the most important; which is having the Love of Jesus. Also, remember the thief on the cross. He accepted Jesus at that last moment and the Lord said he will be with Him. But that thief did none of the works so many think that’s a ticket to Heaven. Yes, the works are good, but the greatest and the most powerful is LOVE… So when you prophesy, cast out demons, give your tithes, give to the poor, etc., do it in Jesus’s Love and not what you can get out of it. You may ask how can I have that Love. Well, 1st accept He loves you. He loves you right now with all your quirks and bad ways. God did not say He sent His only Son to die for us while we were living right. He sent His Son to die for us while we were sinning. So many look at Love being weak, but it’s the opposite. Love is what brought Jesus on the earth to die for all our us. For God loved the world so much that He sent His ONLY Son to die for us… Let’s be the wise virgins and walk in the Light/Love/Grace of Jesus Christ.

1 Corinthians 13;  Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing. Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth; Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. Charity never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away. For we know in part, and we prophesy in part. But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away. When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known. And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.


1 Comment

  1. farmlyn says:

    yes i would like Him to be my motivation

Leave a comment