DIY – One Room At A Time

Home » Uncategorized » What Did Jesus Do…

What Did Jesus Do…

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

What Did Jesus Do:

So many people say they are like Jesus because of a position they have in church or an anointing they say they have. But do we all really use Jesus as our example and follow what He did? On the cross Jesus said “Father forgive them for they know not what they do”. Jesus disciple, Stephen said something or the same thing when he was stoned for telling people about Jesus. Stephen asked the Lord to forgive the people that was killing him. You CANNOT do that unless you are allowing yourself to be led by the Lord’s Holy Spirit. Years ago when I was in my early 20’s I was wronged and violated by a man in the worse way a man can do a woman. I had built up a lot of hatred and bitterness toward him. But I had something he didn’t, the Lord Jesus. The Lord helped me forgive this man. Later on, the Lord told me to tell this man “when you come to yourself I want you to know I forgive you”. I could not rest until I did it. The Lord was my strength and I forgave this man. A couple of years ago I was making a statement that forgiveness is not for us but for the other person. A lot you of may disagree with me. But if you really understood what forgiveness means you would think differently. Well, when I made that statement a woman who many considered a strong woman of God said in the same forum that when you forgive it’s for you. The danger in that statement is it’s a selfish statement. Before you judge what I’m saying to be wrong, 1st look at what Jesus did for us. Did He come to earth to die for us and forgive our sins for Himself or for us? That’s the same attitude we are supposed to take on forgiving someone else. It’s for that person. When I called that man he acted as though he was not moved by what I said; and at that moment he may have not been. But one day he will come to his right mind and think about what he did and need forgiveness. That forgiveness will help him forgive himself. Do you ever think about what Jesus did for you and how He took the beating on His body to the point He was unrecognizable as a man. The Bible said He flesh fell from His bones. That’s just how bad He was beat for us. He took every sin, sickness, curse on His body for us. He died a sinner’s death and He did NOTHING wrong. He did it all for us because He loves us. Again, do you think Jesus died and forgave our sins so He could benefit from it? What He did was a selfless act. Here is a scripture that will help you better understand why forgiveness is for the other person. I took away any doubt from me concerning this. I pray it does the same for you. If this isn’t for you, share it with others. Look at what Jesus did and that’s our example. Going back to Stephen, I’ve heard people say “well, I’m not Jesus”. No, we are not Jesus, but we are Christians, which are Christ like. I believe the Lord had what Stephen did recorded in the Bible to let us know what He did can be done through us also. We can do all this through Christ who strengthens us. That means forgiving the way He did. If you have been saved and are born again, then you have His Holy Spirit residing in you now. So we can do and have the power and authority to do what He did. Peace and blessings.

2 Corinthians 2:7-11; So [instead of further rebuke, now] you should rather turn and [graciously] FORGIVE AND COMFORT AND ENCOURAGE [HIM], TO KEEP HIM FROM BEING OVERWHELMED BY EXCESSIVE SORROW AND DESPAIR. I therefore beg you to reinstate him in your affections and assure him of your love for him; For this was my purpose in writing you, to test your attitude and see if you would stand the test, whether you are obedient and altogether agreeable [to following my orders] in everything. If you forgive anyone anything, I too forgive that one; and what I have forgiven, if I have forgiven anything, has been for your sakes in the presence [and with the approval] of Christ (the Messiah), to keep satan from getting the advantage over us; for we are not ignorant of his wiles and intentions.


Leave a comment